A new adventure… Week 7

Monday:

Math… I feel so stupid… Such simple maths… Apparently. I suppose we should all have some math skills, and as our lecturer tells us, she enjoys math and enjoys teaching it. It does help if your high school teacher was a complete a**, he really did not teach me anything other than people are shit.

remember I told you how I had failed ALL my tests? Well, I didn’t fail any, some I could have done better and some I really surprised myself… according to them I must be here! Conclusion: for 3 of my tests I got around 67%, for one I got 73%, and two I got 93 and 95%

Whoohoo! !!!!!!! I am so happy, I really want to make my average 95, at the moment it is 85. Monday is the next test… looking forward to it, I want to do well! If only I felt like this as school, however, I did always get in the 90 for Hotel and Catering. I am going to join the extra classes though, I am not god when it comes to studying on my own.

today ended well!

Tuesday:

What is on the menu today? Chicken Cordon Blu with Polenta triangles… I have never made Polenta, don’t even recall eating it but apparently it tastes similar to Pap, I love Pap! Chef explained how to make it and then… as if it is so easy, grill in a pan for the nice ‘toasted Cheese sandwich’ lines… let me tell you… not as easy as toasting a Cheese Sandwich in a pan but eventually I got the hang of it. The rest of the team did a great job with the Chicken Cordon Blu and the Velouté… can you remember what that is?

I almost cheated on lent when one of my team members told me to taste a piece of their creation and as I took it to my mouth I dropped it, as if it was a hot pan, which I ironically burnt myself on when I tried to cut a piece off the creation!

Not only that but the rest of the team made Spaghetti and Spicy Mince… I love Pasta and Mince! So much!

And just to show the Salad, which smelled and looked so delectable, here is a pic of a Chicken Salad with a whole bunch of goodies… oh yes, I helped with the plate smudge on the side…
today… ended well!

Ps. Velouté is a Roux with Stock instead of Milk.

Wednesday:

Soup! I love Soup! Even if it’s summer (I’d hoped it would have been autumn by now). Today we have to make a Vichyssoise… Traditional Potato and Leek Soup. I was so excited since I am a master at Soup… Or so I thought… I did not get full marks, so that was slightly disappointing. I asked Chef how do I get full marks and Chef said I must just carry on the way I do. Not sure what that means so I’ll just carry on the way I do.

Yes, I did plate that! Proud of it too. This was Mt breakfast and lunch and I enjoyed it, the garnish was tasty too.

Thursday :

Our team was frail today… Very frail! Our War Cry sounded more like a cry for help. The previous evening’s party had a toll on our energy levels but we survived. We made a buffet and when I asked Chef is it was ons purpose Chef said a buffet would be easier that plating gorgeous plates of food and making difficult meals. Today all was traditional, which means a lot of Butter, Sugar, and Onion. I made creamed Spinach, which I apparently make very delicious (confirmed by my SO and one of my piers). Along with that there was Bobotie that I helped make with my pier who approved my Spinach, there was Chicken Pie… Torture to my lenting soul. Then we had some Butternut in Sugar and Butter, Glazed Carrots, Broccoli & Cauliflower with Béchamel, Yorkshire Pudding, and Spicy Rice.

Today felt very long but it was good to see all the food we had made.

Friday :

Today my family came to eat at our… Kiosk/restaurant and I had been practicing my Barista skills again but let me go back to my practical this morning. We made Béchamel today, and yes, I have made it many times before but never like this… I don’t know if it was necessarily better than usual but Chef said it looked good, my seasoning is good and it tastes smooth… I’m happy with that! Other than that nothing much really happened, Béchamel doesn’t take that long.

And that’s my week… Passed fast and seemed a bit boring… Oh well, hopefully next week will be busy again.

Leave a comment