A new adventure… Week 10

Monday:

Test time again. I studied, a bit more than before (which isn’t really much), and realised that maybe I SHOULD finally go for French classes. I’ve always wanted to and now I have the perfect excuse to go for it!

Anyways… I technically knew everything, whether I used the right words to describe it… we’ll have to see. With the 2nd test, Health and Safety, I realised that there is more to Health and Safety than just logic, there’s also some studying to be done. The math test doesn’t count. It just frustrated me and then I was frustrated… nothing else.

Tuesday:

I absolutely loved today! I loved it! I nominated myself to be on Dessert because I want to start making the pretty stuff! No one jumped at the opportunity to join me so I ended up making it myself. Before I go further, let me say, EVERYONE LOVED it! I even enjoyed it and then I learned something about myself… I am a sucker for Lemon Curd. Since my Lemon Curd turned out to be Lemon Butter the last time I made it, I told Chef I would like to try it again. In general I like Lemons and most things with Lemons in but today I realised that I do like a Dessert with some Lemon in, especially when it’s Curd! I tasted my food a bit more today than I usually do… (insert smiley face here)… Oh, and burnt myself in a very awkward place… naughty, I mean awkward as in every time I bend my index finger it hurts! Pots get hot on a gas stove, as I burnt I dropped the pot and almost burnt Chef as well.

So, first the Lemon Curd was made, and let me just say now that I obviously made all this with the help of Chef, sure he is sick of hearing me shout/calling out “Chef…” So, thanks to Chef! After the Lemon Curd was made I started with the Lemon Lava Cake…  Chef never tried this recipe before so we tested one that we baked without mixing the Lemon Curd with the rest of the mixture and realised that it would probably be better to mix it in. Then I mixed all together, made the Dariole 1/3 full with mixture, scooped in very generous scoops of Lemon Curd, then filled the rest up again with the mixture. This time… magic happened. Since Dessert only gets served when lunch gets served I wanted to keep myself busy with something else.

My pier and I demanded Chef’s attention until he told us what we can make… Custard Slices… If I do not get fat today then nothing will ever make me fat! I already know that Custard Slices are another weakness of mine, today I found another one, this is not good.

It’s always fun to make a mess in the kitchen, if it follows the recipe. In this case we had to make the Pastry Cream and then throw it out on the table then mix the Butter in, so much fun!

 

Also a quick way to lure the vultures… now I have their attention, I will be watched the whole time, I can’t afford to screw this up, there are a lot of people looking hungry for these Custard Slices. Time to layer them. Today was another ‘no crumb dared hit the ground’ moment. It helps with sweeping luckily.

Lunchtime was close I had to plate the Dessert plate and for that I needed to make the Creme Chantilly (a very fancy name for Whipped Cream that’s been sweetened). That didn’t take long to make at least and the plating was easy.

In this time, however, I had to rely on my piers to finish the Custard Slices with a layer of Raspberry Jam and Icing and some pretty Chocolate decorations.
The Slices were sold before they even made it to the display case…

It was a good day!

Oh wait, I apologise, we did not make Custard Slices, we made Mille Feuille. And if you want to know the difference… It’s like the Boerewors Roll of Hot Dogs.

Wednesday :

Oh patience, you have mislead me. They say ‘a watched pot never boils’, I say a stirred Velouté ‘s Flour never cooks out. I had that Sauce on the stove for so long, I even told my pier next to me that if the Flour isn’t cooked out now it will never be… I was wrong… I think I need to make Velouté this holiday and practice. Along with Velouté we made Chicken Kiev. Butter + Garlic + Herbs (mainly Parsley) shaped in a log form then placed in the middle of a flattened Chicken Breast and then crumbed and fried… How could I not cheat on my lent for that?! Seriously, I only cheated because I made this for marks and had to taste my food, I was way more excited about the Mash. Mash, aha, saviour of the universe…. Mash, aha, it’s a miracle (my SO hates when I sing that). I was bit concerned when Chef said we will be marked on plating as well. Velouté, fried Chicken and Mash, not very colourful but let’s see what inspiration will hit me when I’m done.

This is what I came up with…

I am not going to lie, this was a very Garlicky meal, I used the oils from the pan for the Velouté and in the Mash… Delicious!
Thursday :

Cake of the day:
Pineapple, Granadilla, and Coconut Cake. Looks delicious doesn’t it?

After that it was me and the Lemon Curd again. Today for Dessert we made a fancy Lemon Meringue with some Raspberry Coulis. Another pretty dish and the Curd was sooooo delicious, could be better but getting there. Today I made the Curd myself and Chef told me I was brave to make the Curd directly on the stove… Is there another way?! Oops. Well, it came out delicious but I have not yet out-curd Chef. 

Today was also a chance for me to practice the Pâté Sucrée again, I’ve wanted to make it at home but neither my SO or I are that keen on sweet things (with the exception of course). I am glad that I could try it at class and get feedback from someone who doesn’t feel they have to be nice to me. Cam I just say… Patience is needed with this delicate dough.

Italian Meringue was to be on top of the Lemon Meringue, which I like, it’s a very smooth Meringue and glossy, until you use the blowtorch.

After lunch the Pâté Sucrée was complimented. Another successful day in tue kitchen.
Friday:

Sports day… What did I learn about food today? When you Apple Bob you need to put your whole face in the bucket of water and preferably not be the last person to do it because I imagine a lot of spit gets left behind. And I learnt that of you are hungry, down 350ml Milk in a few seconds and you’ll be set!

Our team did however surprise the other team, not just with our downing skills…

Hallo weekend!

Leave a comment